Nate Thompson


Nine inductees will be enshrined into the South Carolina Football Coaches Hall of Fame class of 2019.

Two of those honorees are two former Georgetown County football coaches, Nate Thompson and Burney Bourne.

Thompson, who won two state titles as the head coach of Carvers Bay High School, retired after the 2018 season. He amassed a record of 164-69 since being named the high school’s first head coach back in 2000.

Thompson lead the Bears to five championship games and the program had only four losing seasons under his leadership. His Bears won two region titles in Class A (2012, 2013) and three region titles in Class 2A (2002, 2017, 2018) and only missed the playoffs one time during his tenure.

Before coaching Carvers Bay, Thompson coached for two years at Choppee High School. Choppee and the former Pleasant Hill High School combined to form Carvers Bay High.

After he retired following the 2018 season, Thompson took a job as the defensive line coach at Conway High School where he’d previously been a defensive coordinator before coaching at Choppee.

Burney Boune coached for 31 years, with stops at Cheraw, Socastee and Waccamaw.

Most of his success came at Cheraw High School where he amassed a 179-96 record with a Lower State Championship and two State Championships.

Bourne retired in 2010 after coaching Waccamaw for six years. He led the Warriors to the playoffs in 2008 and 2009.

The induction banquet will be held at the Crown Reef Resort in Myrtle Beach, Dec. 13 at 7:00 p.m.

The other hall of fame class inductees include Dennis Botts (Calhoun Falls and Abbeville), J.R. Boyd (Lamar and Laurens), Reed Charpia (James Island, Irmo, Newberry College, Midland Valley, Bennettsville, Marlboro County and Woodland), Bob Hanna (Irmo and five N.C. schools), Chris Miller (Broome, Byrnes and Spartanburg), Bob Prevatte (Gaffney) and Allen Sitterle (Spartanburg, Daniel and Lexington).