educ graphic (copy) (copy)

The Georgetown County School District has named the five finalists for its annual Teacher of Year honor.

The five are: Lucy Mitchum, third grade, Maryville Elementary School; Kristen Moody, first grade, Kensington Elementary School; Carla Nesmith, third grade, Andrews Elementary School; Major Shawn C. Studley, senior naval science instructor, Georgetown High School; and Amy Williams, first through third grades, Coastal Montessori Charter School.

The finalists were notified on Friday by Randy Dozier, superintendent of schools. The winner will be announced at a banquet on May 10 at the Litchfield Beach and Golf Resort.

The finalists were chosen from nominees from each school in the district. The other nominees were: Andrews High School, Melissa B. Durham; Brown’s Ferry Elementary School, Whitney Potwin; Carvers Bay High School, Monique Kinloch; Carvers Bay Middle School, Norine Grant-Fraiser; Georgetown Middle School, Emily Avery; Howard Adult Center, Jennifer Hagaman; McDonald Elementary School, Rebecca Peterman; Plantersville Elementary School, Melissa Chastain; Pleasant Hill Elementary School, Kristen C. Langston; Rosemary Middle School, Debra A. Geathers; Sampit Elementary School, DeAnne Wilson; Waccamaw Elementary School, Kristi Patterson; Waccamaw High School, Rayna Smith; Waccamaw Intermediate School, Robin Krask; and Waccamaw Middle School, Taylor Hering.