Three Coastal University students from Georgetown County were recently inducted into Phi Eta Sigma, the honor society for freshmen at the university.

The local students inducted were:

  • Axsel Brown, a Accounting major from Pawleys Island.
  • Taylor McConnell, a Elementary Education major from Georgetown.
  • Karlyn McCray, a Early Childhood Education major from Georgetown.

More than 80 total CCU students were inducted into the honor society during the 2018-2019 academic year.

Phi Eta Sigma was founded in 1923 at the University of Illinois. It is the nation’s oldest and largest honor society for first-year college and university students in all disciplines. Phi Eta Sigma has chapters across 378 colleges in the U.S. and has inducted more than 1.1 million students.

In order to be inducted, students must have a grade-point average of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale at the end of any semester. They also must be full-time students and rank in the upper 20 percent of their class.

Coastal Carolina University is a dynamic, public comprehensive liberal arts institution located in Conway, just minutes from the resort area of Myrtle Beach, S.C.

CCU offers baccalaureate degrees in 73 major fields of study. Among the university’s 25 graduate-level programs are 21 master’s degrees, two educational specialist degrees, and the doctorates in education and marine science: coastal and marine systems science. The most popular undergraduate majors are marine science, management, exercise and sport science, communication and psychology. CCU boasts a growing array of internship, research and international opportunities for students, as well as numerous online programs through Coastal Online.

More than 10,600 students from across the country and around the world interact with a world-class faculty, and enjoy a nationally competitive NCAA I athletic program, an inspiring cultural calendar, and a tradition of community interaction that is fueled by more than 160 student clubs and organizations.

Coastal Carolina University was founded in 1954 as Coastal Carolina Junior College and became an independent state university in 1993.

For more information, visit