Candidate questions removal from ballot

  • Friday, May 18, 2012

Rod Stalvey of Georgetown is still running for Georgetown County auditor, even though his name doesn’t appear on the ballot for next month’s primary.
Stalvey was one of nearly 200 candidates across South Carolina who were disqualified because they didn’t properly file State Ethics Commission disclosure forms at the time they filed to run for office.
Tammie Avant, who filed to run for Georgetown County clerk of court, was also disqualified.
Stalvey said when he filed his Statement of Candidacy form, Jim Jerow, chairman of the county Republican Party, did not have a computer with him, so Stalvey could not file his Statement of Economic Interest.
Stalvey said Jerow told him to go home and file the Statement of Economic Interest on his computer.
Jerow confirmed on Monday that he didn’t have a computer with him when all of the non-incumbent candidates filed, and he told them all to go home and file their Statements of Economic Interest on their own computers.
Mike Andrews, who is running for county treasurer, said that’s what Jerow told him when he filed his Statement of Candidacy, and so he went home and filed his Statement of Economic Interest.
Stalvey concedes that when he went to file his Statement of Economic Interest on March 30, the filing deadline, he updated the information already on file and clicked the “save” button instead of the “submit” button. It wasn’t until early April that he went back and corrected his mistake.
According to state law, candidates must file both forms electronically at the same time with the same person.
Approximately 180 candidates across the state were disqualified.
The state Republican Party asked the state Supreme Court to step in and put the candidates back on the ballot, but the Court rejected the argument.
However, in Georgetown County, at least four candidates who filed with Jerow remain on the ballot, including Brian Shult who is running for county auditor, and Stalvey wants to know why.
Jerow declined to comment on the situation saying only that he sent his list to the state party, which then submitted it to the S.C. State Election Commission. The party and the commission then certified the list and sent it back to him, and he submitted it to the county.
Stalvey wants to know why he and Avant were left off the ballot and said he has been trying to get an answer from Jerow, and Chad Connelly, chairman of the state party.
“I am really perturbed that no one has been forthwith with information,” Stalvey said.
He wants all the non-incumbent Republicans removed from the county ballot.
Stalvey is still planning to run for county auditor as an independent. To get on the November ballot he would have to get at least 2,500 registered voters in Georgetown County to sign a petition.
“I’m doing this because I think I’m the best person for the job.”


Donna Mahn, the county’s director of voter registration and elections, released a list Tuesday of candidates who have been certified and will appear on the primary ballot.
Republicans: state Sen. Ray Cleary, incumbent, District 34; Tom Winslow, House District 103; Stephen L. Goldfinch Jr., House District 108; County Council Member Ron Charlton, incumbent, District 2; Council Member Austin Beard, incumbent, District 5; Bubba Grimes III, County Council District 5; Sheriff A. Lane Cribb, incumbent; Doug Dishong, Georgetown County sheriff; Mike Andrews, treasurer; County Coroner Kenny Johnson, incumbent; Probate Judge Waldo Maring, incumbent; Brian Shult, auditor.
Mahn’s list notes that Republican candidates for auditor and clerk of court (Stalvey and Avant) were disqualified, and no Republican filed for state Senate District 32, and County Council Districts 3 and 4.
Democrats: state Sen. Yancey McGill, incumbent, District 32; Cezar E. McKnight, state Senate District 32; state Rep. Carl Anderson, incumbent, House District 103; Jacqueline Williams, House District 103; Jarrod Ownbey, House District 108; County Council Member Leona Myers-Miller, incumbent, District 3; County Council Member Lillie Jean Johnson, incumbent, District 4; Ben Dunn, County Council District 5; Darryel C. Carr, Georgetown County sheriff; County Treasurer Loretta Washington-Cooper, incumbent; Clerk of Court Alma White, incumbent.
Mahn’s list notes that no Democrats filed for state Senate District 34, County Council District 2, county coroner, county auditor and probate judge.

By Chris Sokoloski

Latest Videos
Friends to Follow
News from Twitter

South Strand News

© 2016 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.