Rotary awards scholarships

  • Wednesday, August 6, 2014

From left Taylor Mercer (Mike Rogers Memorial Scholar,) Tiffani McCray (GHS Rotary Scholar,) and Spencer Owens (CBHS Rotary Scholar.)

The Georgetown Lunch Rotary Club recently announced its scholarship winners for 2014-15.

This year’s scholarship recipients were: Tiffany McCray (Georgetown High School,) Spencer Owens (Carver Bay High School,) and Taylor Mercer (Mike Rogers Memorial Scholarship.)

Kent Vanier, chairman of the Georgetown Rotary Club’s Scholarship Committee, said the selection process for the scholarship recipients is never easy, but this year’s awards went to some very deserving Georgetown students.

Vanier said the $1,000 scholarships are awarded to senior students from Georgetown and Carvers Bay High schools.

The criteria used in the initial selection process include academic achievement, extracurricular activities, community activities, written description of future personal, educational and professional plans, and a financial needs form.

The schools’ guidance counselors assist in the screening process and the Club Scholarship Committee makes the final decision.

The Mike Rogers Memorial Scholarship was established by the Rogers family to honor Mike Rogers, a sports reporter for the Georgetown Times. The $500 scholarship is given to a deserving student with an athletic or band background who meet the other criteria for the award.

Those students and parents interested in applying for these scholarships should contact Rotarian Kent Vanier c/o Edward Jones, 936 Front Street, Georgetown, SC 29440.


Notice about comments:

South Strand News is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not South Strand News.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

Latest Videos
Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads

South Strand News

© 2015 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.