Andrews NJROTC gives awards

  • Friday, May 30, 2014

Barbara Gengler/ for South Strand News Change of Command between Cadet Burroughs and Cadet McKenzie


Andrews High School Navy Junior ROTC Commander Dennis Turner welcomed cadets, parents and guests to the awards night on May 27.

“It’s been a good year,” Turner said. “We are very proud of our cadets.”

Several awards were presented to the NJROTC cadets including awards for exemplary personal appearance which went to Anthony Nesmith, William Burroughs, Niasha Dorsey, Mara Ford, Briana Gary, Raven Giles, Coretta Grant and an additional 50 plus cadets.

For exemplary conduct, awards were given to:

Lewis McKenzie, Anthony Nesmith, William Burroughs, Leon Davis, Niasha Dorsey, Mara Ford, Whitney Garrett, Briana Gary, Raven Giles, Coretta Grant, Mark King, Hunger Lambert, Christopher Perritt, Tarique Scott, Myesha Thompson, Bryce Vallandares, Quinsha Washington, Lexus Williams, Robert Alford, Timothy Belcher plus 50 cadets.

What’s more, the evening drew attention to a Change of Command which took place as Cadet Burroughs relieved Cadet McKenzie as commanding officer and boasted of two rifle team members, Cadet McKenzie and Cadet King, who received an award for placing in the NRA JROTC Postal Match.

The Naval Science 1 Outstanding Cadet Awards were presented to Leewayne Barrineau, Marshayvia Brooks, Darius Brown, Michaela Collins, Aurion Cox, John Glisson, Zachary Hanna, Lakeveundra Hillard, Brandon Johnson, Kynajah Johnson, Tyler Jones, Caleb Jordan, Destiny Keels, Harold Langley and 14 additional cadets.

The Naval Science II Outstanding Cadet Awards were presented to Timothy Belcher, Tareick Elmore, Kierra Funnie, Praise Hudson, Mailk Hurrell, Maureshia Knowlin, Michael Lambert, Chandler Martin, Jonathan Rogers, Essence Sanders, Bulexus Shaw and Ruth Walker while William Burroughs, Mara Ford, Whitney Garrett, Briana Gary, Raven Giles, Coretta Grant, Mark King, Tarique Scott and Myesha Thompson received the National Science III Outstanding Cadet Award.

Anthony Nesmith and Lewis McKenzie each received the Naval Science IV Outstanding Cadet Award while Anthony Nesmith, William Burroughs, Jonathan Roberts and John Glisson were presented the Distinguished Cadet award.

The Aptitude Award and Promotions for Cadet Seaman, Cadet Petty Officer First, Second and Third Class, Cadet Chief Petty Officer, Cadet Ensign and Cadet Lieutenant Junior Grade awards were also presented as was the Cadet Lieutenant was presented to William Burroughs and Cadet Commander (Adjunant) which was presented to Lewis McKenzie and Anthony Nesmith. Additional awards were presented for Organization Awards.

The South Carolina National Guard Cadet of the Year award was given to Anthony Nesmith while the Military Officers Association of America and VFW JROTC Award went to William Burroughs.

Latest Videos
Friends to Follow
News from Twitter

South Strand News

© 2016 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.