Waccamaw High Student Council wins state award for 10th straight year

  • Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Photo provided Julieanne L. Humowitz, Student Council co-sponsor, left, stands with students Richard Rasheed, Sarah Ellerbe, Banks Lucas, Lindsay Jessmore, Max Overly, Allie Jones, Imani Atkins, Gracyn Cooper, Christine Humowitz, Sam Sisney, and Berkley Lane.

Waccamaw High School’s Student Council was named 1A-2A Council of the Year for the 10th year in a row during a recent District 2 rally.

Students won in Digital Scrapbook, Community Service project, and School Pride project.

The district is composed of Georgetown, Horry, Williamsburg, Sumter, Florence, Lee, Darlington, Marlboro, Dillon, Marion, and Clarendon counties.

“I am so proud of the accomplishments of our council,” said Julieanne Humowitz, Student Council co-sponsor with Briael Chadwell.

“Kareena Patel and Sarah Hutto, our council historians, put together a beautiful scrapbook of all of our events for the year using the theme ‘Growing the Garden of Leadership.’ In total, we recorded over 50 activities that we have planned and successfully carried out over the course of the year. Our council continues to strive to do more community service projects, raise school spirit, and promote positive leadership and school pride.”

She said other teachers and parents help out with special projects like powder puff football, stud muffin volleyball, hall decorations, and trick or trunk. “We appreciate the support of teachers like Cara Cook, Jody Herndon, Nelle Stephenson, Rob Phillips, Jose Arias, Melanie Maxon, and Linda Kelly with these special projects,” Humowitz said.

“Everyone does a great job at pitching in and helping when they can.”

She commends the leadership of the Student Council president, senior Imani Atkins, and vice-president, junior Banks Lucas for leading and motivating the council.

“Junior Lindsay Jessmore also did an outstanding job in presenting our projects which also won outstanding honors,” Humowitz said.

“Two of those projects included Best Promoting School Pride with Rally Towels and for compiling and submitting a digital memory book of our year.”

These student council members won elections at the event: Sarah Ellerbe for District 2 Vice Chair, Lindsay Jessmore for District 2 Chair and Banks Lucas for State Recording Secretary.

“We hope that every high school and middle school in Georgetown County will send their student leaders to this wonderful event” Humowitz said. “We are really hoping that we can increase the participation of our district at the local as well as at the state level.”

Latest Videos
Friends to Follow
News from Twitter

South Strand News

© 2016 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.