Political filing ended Sunday with a surprise entry into House 108 race

  • Sunday, March 30, 2014

  • Updated Tuesday, April 1, 2014 11:14 pm


The two-week filing period for people wanting to run for political office in 2014 ended at noon Sunday with a surprise as a former Statehouse member filed on the final day to regain her seat.

Democrat Vida Miller filed at 10:34 a.m. Sunday for the S.C. House 108 seat she held from 1996-2010. She was defeated in 2010 by Republican Kevin Ryan who served a single two-year term before deciding to not seek reelection.

Ryan was succeeded by Republican Stephen Goldfinch in 2012.

As of now, Miller will not have a Democratic Primary opponent in June but will face Goldfinch in November for the seat that covers portions of Georgetown and Charleston counties.

She said she decided to seek the seat because “the lack of leadership and integrity at the state house continues to play itself out on the front pages of our newspapers, television and social media.”

Miller said lawmakers “continue to cut funding from our public schools, pay teachers some of lowest salaries in the country, fail to solve the ethics problems, and are out of touch with the citizens...We can do better and you deserve better.”

Miller continued by writing she decided to file “after a great deal of reflection and disappointment in our current representation.”

She said she was encouraged by many people over the past few weeks to jump in the race.

“It was not anything I was planning for any great length of time. I knew I would regret it if I did not file,” she said. “I have always said you can be a part of the problem or the solution. I want to be a part of the solution. I enjoy constituent service.”

Before being elected to the House, Miller served six years on the Georgetown County School Board.

“I worked hard in education and environmental protection issues. I wanted to continue the work started by many Democratic governors in this state who fought for education and environmental protection.”

Goldfinch said the House 108 District “has become a very conservative district.”

Goldfinch said he finds Miller to be “a very pleasant woman” but says he “does not see the district electing Vida and her Democrat policies.”

“However, this is a free country, and I’m proud that she’s able to run and express her differences with the conservative voters of this district,” he wrote.

Goldfinch said when voters look at the records and the visions both he and Miller have for the state, they will “find a stark contrast between my conservative vision: lower taxes, less regulation, smaller government; and the Democrat vision: higher taxes, more regulation and an ever expanding government that certainly threatens our freedoms.

I believe this district will choose wisely and will choose the conservative vision.”

County Council

The stage is also set for some key contests in both the June party primaries and the November general election.

Two Georgetown County Council members face competition from newcomers in June.

Georgetown County Council District 7 seat holder Johnny Morant, a Democrat, faces former county School Board member Ben Grate for the party nomination.

Morant was first elected in 1993. He was selected by his fellow council members to serve as chairman from 1997-99. He was selected to hold that position again in 2008 and is still the council chairman.

Grate was a member of the school board from May 1995 to November 1998.

Bob Anderson, a Republican serving County Council District 6 since January 2011 faces Steve Goggans in the GOP Primary.

Anderson is the owner of Anderson Home Design and Sales Inc. He spent more than three decades in manufacturing engineering, manufacturing management, and program management with The Magnavox Corp., Sperry Univac Inc., and the Raytheon Co.

Goggans is a licensed architect since 1982 and founder and owner of SGA Architecture, headquartered in Pawleys Island.

The Georgetown County Council District 1 seat is also on the ballot this year. The only person who filed for that seat is Republican John W. Thomas.

Incumbent Republican Jerry Oakley decided not to seek reelection.

Barring a petition candidate entering the race, Thomas is expected to be elected to the seat in November.


Jimmy Richardson is running unopposed for 15th Circuit Solicitor.

Statehouse Seat 103

South Carolina House of Representatives Seat 103 seat holder Carl Anderson, a Democrat, faces no opposition this year. His seat serves portions of Georgetown, Horry and Williamsburg counties.

U.S. Senate

Republican Lindsey Graham faces Det Bowers, Richard Cash, Bill Connor, Benjamin Dunn, Lee Bright and Nancy Mace in June.

Democrats facing off in June are Brad Hutto and Jay Stamper

Libertarian Party candidate Victor Kocher will be on the November ballot.

Sen. Tim Scott is running after being appointed by Gov. Nikki Haley. He faces Republican opposition in June from Randall Young and Joyce Dickerson.

Democrats running are Sidney Moore and Harry Pavilack.

American Party candidate is Jill Bossi.

Statewide offices

The following are the candidates running for statewide offices:

Governor: Incumbent Nikki Haley faces Tom Ervin of Greenville in the party primary.

Others running for the seat in November are Democrat Vincent Sheheen, Libertarian Steve French and United Citizens candidate Morgan Reeves.

Lieutenant Governor: Four Republicans will be on the June party primary ballot:

Mike Campbell of Columbia, Pat McKinney of Charleston, Henry McMaster of Columbia and Ray Moore of Columbia.

The winner faces Democrat Bekari Sellers of Denmark.

Adjutant general: Republicans James Breazeale and incumbent Bob Livingston will square off in June.

Attorney general: Democrat Parnell Diggs and Republican Alan Wilson will be on the November ballot.

Commissioner of agriculture: On the June Republican Primary ballot are Joe Farmer and Republican Hugh Weathers. The winner faces Emile DeFelice of the America Party and David Edmond of the United Citizens Party in the General Election.

Comptroller general: Two Republicans, incumbent Richard Eckstrom and Robert D. Shelley, will be on the June ballot. The winner faces Democrat Kyle Herbert in November.

Secretary of state: Ginny Deerin, Democrat and Republican incumbent Mark Hammond will be on the November ballot.

State treasurer: Brian Adams and incumbent Curtis Loftis will be on the June Republican Primary ballot. There is no Democratic opposition.

Superintendent of education: On the June Republican Primary ballot, there will be eight candidates: Sally Atwater, Gary Burgess, Meka B. Childs, Amy Cofield, Sheri Few, Don Jordan, Elizabeth Moffly, Molly M. Spearman.

The Democrats running for the seat are: Montrio M. Belton Sr., Sheila C. Gallagher; Jerry Govan; Tom Thompson.

The winners of the primaries face American Party candidate Ed Murray in November.


Notice about comments:

South Strand News is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not South Strand News.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads
Latest Videos

South Strand News

© 2014 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.