Pee Dee Community Project holds annual honor roll program

  • Friday, March 7, 2014

Photo Provided Pictured here are some of the students who were recognized during The Pee Dee Community Project’s annual honor roll program.

The Pee Dee Community Project, LLC of Georgetown County held its annual honor roll program on Saturday, Feb. 8 at 10 a.m. at the St. John Holiness Church of the Pee Dee Community where Elder Charles Sumpter is the pastor.

The Pee Dee Community Project, LLC is a non-profit organization that is instrumental in providing a variety of programs that serve the Pee Dee community members of every age and background.

The organization was founded in 1973 and is located approximately 25 miles outside the city of Georgetown. Its mission is to address the root cause of poverty, meet basic human needs and encourage positive youth development. The annual honor roll program is designed to reward elementary, middle and high school students in the community who make As and Bs during the school year.

The goal of the event is to promote the importance of taking school seriously, to recognize students for hard work and to emphasize the importance of students’ academic future. The event is also co-sponsored by all of the churches in the community – St. Luke Holiness, Sandhill UAFWB, St. John Holiness, Trinity AME and St. Joseph MB.

This year a number of students were recognized from the 1st nine weeks of the school year.

From the elementary schools the student who made the A honor roll was Jabari Shubrick.

From the elementary schools the students who made the AB honor roll were Paris Beaty, Nikole Hutchinson, Jamie Elston, Tyliyah Cohen, Serenity Graham, Joshua Walker, Moesha Reed, Erica Holmes, Darrell Burroughs, Gia Hutchinson and Donovan Bryan.

From the middle schools the student who made the A honor roll was Ka’Shanti Robinson and the AB honor roll were Selena Dozier, Raey Hutchinson, Kayla Windley and Jimeshia Goss.

From the high schools the student who made the A honor roll was Armani Sumpter and the AB honor roll were Tyesha Wilson, Dequan Wilson and Allegria Reed.

All students were awarded a monetary gift along with a certificate.

The guest speaker for the event was Dr. Celestine Pringle, Assistant Superintendent of Georgetown County School Distrcit (GCSD). Dr. Pringle presented the kids with a very inspirational speech on how to succeed in school, the consequences of bad behavior and the importance of good manners.

GCSD Superintendent Dr. Randall Dozier, Carver’s Bay High School Principal Richard Neal, Pleasant Hill Elementary Guidance Counselor Sonya Marsh and Pleasant Hill Elementary teacher Linda Marsh were in attendance and offered words of encouragement and advice to all.

All in attendance were also served refreshments of hotdogs, chips and beverages.

This event is the result of the hard work from the following community members – James Jackson, Claudia Cohen, Novella White, Tyron Wilson, Trudell Dease, Adrena Aklin, Krystal Davis and the St. John Holiness Church.

Latest Videos
Friends to Follow
News from Twitter

South Strand News

© 2016 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.