Jayroe, Kimbrough sworn in to Georgetown City Council

  • Friday, January 3, 2014

Scott Harper/Times Ed Kimbrough and Carol Jayroe were sworn in Thursday evening as new members of Georgetown City Council. From left are Debbie Kimbrough, Ed Kimbrough, Carol Jayroe, Edwin Jayroe and municipal Judge Robbie O’Donnell.

Carol Jayroe and Ed Kimbrough are now official members of Georgetown City Council. Both were sworn into office by Georgetown Municipal Judge Robbie O’Donnell at a brief ceremony Thursday evening. Jayroe was joined by her husband, Edwin. Kimbrough was accompanied by his wife, Debbie. They replace Paige Sawyer and Jeanette Ard who were defeated in the November election. Mayor Jack Scoville and Councilman Brendon Barber, who won reelection in November, will be sworn in during the Jan. 19 council meeting. Kimbrough said one of the first goals for both he and Jayroe will be to try to get city elections changed to non-partisan. “It’s time to really look at that,” Kimbrough said. Jayroe said she appreciated the crowd that showed up for the ceremony. “We need your help now more than ever,”’ she said.

Latest Videos
Friends to Follow
News from Twitter

South Strand News

© 2016 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.