Sheriff wins big; GOP Runoff for District 7; McGill barely hangs on

  • Wednesday, June 13, 2012

There was only one Georgetown County-only race in the party primaries Tuesday the Republican contest between Sheriff Lane Cribb and his former deputy, Doug Dishong.
The numbers were never close. As the tallies were displayed in the Voter Registration Office one precinct at a time Tuesday night, Cribb started out with the lead and the margin got wider as more results were posted.
In the end, Cribb won the contest 4079-1120.
I feel good and I am proud of my supporters, Cribb said after the unofficial results were announced.
Currently he faces no opposition in November but another former deputy, Darryel Carr, is collecting signatures to run as a petition candidate.
I will keep doing my job and do what I do. If people like it, they will vote for me. If they dont they wont, Cribb said when asked about how he will run against a November opponent.

District 7 race

There will be a runoff on the Republican side for the new Congressional District 7 seat.
On the GOP side, Andre Bauer and Tom Rice face off June 26.
Gloria Tinubu was declared the winner on the Democratic side.
District-wide Bauer received 12,002 votes with 100% of the precincts reporting while Rice received 10,235 votes. Jay Jordan received 8,093 votes followed by Chad Prosser with 3,818. Katherine Jenerette, 1,459; Randal Wallace, 695; Dick Withington, 645;; Renee Culler, 286 and Jim Mader, 188.
In Georgetown County the results were: Rice, 1834; Bauer, 1480; Chad Prosser, 749; Jay Jordan, 592; Jenerette, 244; Withington, 108; Wallace, 80; Culler, 79 and Mader, 62.
On the Democratic side district-wide: Tinubu, 16,370; Brittain, 12,300; Parnell Diggs, 1404; and Harry Pavilack, 1,143.
In Georgetown County it was Tinubu, 2350; Brittain,1031; Diggs, 98; and Pavilack, 87.

Senate Seat 32

This was a neck-in-neck race district-wide.
With 99% of the precincts reporting, longtime seat holder, Democrat Yancey McGill was leading his opponent, Cezar McKnight 6,367 to 6,285 .
McKnight was the victor in Williamsbug County but McGill won Georgetown County 1967 to 1112. Portions of Horry, Florence and Berkeley Counties are also in the district.

Latest Videos
Friends to Follow
News from Twitter

South Strand News

© 2016 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.