Historical Commission gets two new members

  • Friday, April 20, 2012

Harold Jean Brown and Lillian Parker are the newest members of the Georgetown County Historical Commission.
Brown was appointed by Georgetown County Councilwoman Lillie Jean Johnson and Parker was appointed by Council Chairman Johnny Morant. Both nominations were unanimously approved at County Council’s last meeting.
Both women are Georgetown residents.
Brown is a former Georgetown County School Board member and recently retired from the Charleston County School District. Parker retired from the Georgetown County School District.
“I love history,” Brown said. “I’m always impressed with the way we keep up our historical buildings.”
She is excited to be a part of preserving local history.
The Historical Commission was created by County Council in 1980. It is the oversight body for the Georgetown Clock Tower.
The Town Clock has been a downtown landmark since 1845. The hands were removed last spring, and new ones were supposed to be delivered in March.
Jim Fitch, director of the Rice Museum, was out of town and unavailable for comment.

By Chris Sokoloski

Latest Videos
Friends to Follow
News from Twitter

South Strand News

© 2016 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.