• Georgetown Times
  • Waccamaw Times
  • Inlet Outlook

Filing begins March 15 for mayor and City Council races

  • Friday, March 8, 2013

  • Updated Monday, September 23, 2013 10:53 am

The filing period begins next week for anyone wanting to run for Georgetown mayor seat or three seats on City Council.
Mayor Jack Scoville and Council Members Brendon Barber, Paige Sawyer and Jeanette Ard all are up for re-election this year. All four have said they are seeking another term.
So far, no newcomers have publicly announced a bid for one of the three council seats but Councilman Rudolph Bradley has said he will challenge Scoville for the mayor’s seat.
Bradley ran for mayor in 2009 when a runoff was required between himself and Scoville to determine the winner in the Democratic Primary.
In the first primary vote — when former Mayor Lynn Wood Wilson and Councilwoman Peggy Wayne were also on the ballot — Scoville barely edged out Bradley by a vote of 393 to 384. In the runoff, Scoville won by a vote of 673 to 562 over Bradley.
Scoville said he is hoping for four more years, but maybe not a third term.
“I probably will not seek a third term if the people are gracious enough to elect me to another four years,” Scoville told The Georgetown Times.
Filing for the seats begins March 15 and continues through noon March 29. Applications will be accepted at the Voter Registration Office on Hazard Street.
If either or both parties require a primary, they will be June 11 with the General Election taking place Nov. 5.


The Town of Andrews holds elections this year as well.
Because the town holds non-partisan elections, filing for the three expiring council seats will take place in August.
Those holding seats that will be on the November ballot are Thomas Alford, David Tisdale and Sid Ackerman.

Pawleys Island

Filing will also take place in August for anyone wishing to run for a seat in Pawleys Island government. The seats held by the mayor and the four council members all expire every two years.
Because only the incumbents have filed since then, the town has not held an election since 2005. The last contested race was in 2003.

By Scott Harper


Notice about comments:

South Strand News is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not South Strand News.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

South Strand News

© 2014 South Strand News an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.